Visiting Scholars


Leo R Beard Visiting Scholar Program

For many years, on an ad hoc basis, the Hydrologic Engineering Center invited prominent hydrologic and hydraulic professionals to take up residence at HEC in Davis to foster scholarly exchange. Faculty from a number of universities spent some of their sabbatical onsite at HEC in Davis. Prominent engineers from other agencies have occasionally joined the center in a similar capacity. The experience and the exchange of ideas that these scholars bring to HEC have proven to be intellectually satisfying and productive for both our staff and the visitors themselves.

In honor of Leo Beard's work, this program was formalized to become the Leo R. Beard Visiting Scholar Program. Such scholars in residence are referred to as "Leo R. Beard Visiting Scholars." Mr. Beard was the founding Director of HEC with strong ties to scholars in the hydrologic engineering field. Scholars visit from six to twelve months at a time, and are onsite most years.

For more information:

How to Apply

To apply for the Leo R. Beard Visiting Scholar Program, contact: Director, HEC

Past Fellows

  • Dr. Quentin Martin, 1992-1992
  • Dr. Jay Lund, 1994-1994
  • Dr. Jerry Stedinger, 2005-2006
  • Dr. David Watkins, 2008-2008
  • Dr. Eric Larsen, 2009-2010
  • Dr. David Curtis, 2011-2011