News Story Manager

IWR Participates at UNESCO International Hydrological Programme Meeting

Published Aug. 7, 2010
Photo of U.S. attendees at IGC meeting.
Left to right: Will Logan, Eugene Stakhiv, Matthew Larsen, Ambassador David Killion, Kristin Eager Killion, Verne Schneider, and Jody Eimers. Not pictured: Bob Pietrowsky. Photo credit: Ms. Robin Taylor, State Department, US Mission to UNESCO.

ALEXANDRIA, VA—August 17, 2010. IWR Director Bob Pietrowsky attended the 19th session of the Intergovernmental Council (IGC) of UNESCO's International Hydrological Programme (IHP) on July 5 - 9 in Paris, France. The Technical and Deputy Directors of IWR's International Center for Integrated Water Resources Management (ICIWaRM), Eugene Stakhiv and Will Logan, also attended. The three were part of an official U.S. delegation led by Matthew Larsen, Chair of the U.S. National Committee for the IHP and Associate Director for Water for the U.S. Geological Survey. The IGC is the main governing body of UNESCO's most important water program.

It was a noteworthy occasion for the United States, who at UNESCO's 2009 General Conference was elected to the IGC for the first time since 1984. Further, at the outset of the IGC the U.S. was elected as one of four vice chairs in the six-member IHP Bureau. The Bureau meets twice a year and performs many of the leadership functions within the IHP.

The IHP has been a leader in international hydrology since it was established in 1975 in order to facilitate intergovernmental cooperation in water sciences and water resource management. To meet its objectives, the IHP has assisted in the creation of affiliated, or "category 2", water centres around the world, including ICIWaRM. One of the highlights of this year's IGC meeting was the endorsement of category 2 water centres in South Africa, Kenya, and Sudan, which if approved by the 193 member states of UNESCO will be the first IHP centres in Africa.

Ambassador and Mrs. Killion of the U.S. Mission to UNESCO had the opportunity to welcome the delegation to their residence on the occasion of American Independence Day.